Zoomkawala Sahab

mohammed zoomkawala-4
A couplet by Ahmad Faraz, one of the poets that occupied a prominent place on his bookshelf.
Translation:
A dream that took all of life’s dreams
A flood of sleep takes that dream away

mohammed zoomkawala-1
His most oft-cited Persian verse from Saadi. It speaks of the humility of the raindrop when it meets the expanse of the ocean.

mohammed zoomkawala-2

One of his poems from 2002. The only thing that could outweigh his wit was the exhortation to hear out his poetry. And everyone complied.

mohammed zoomkawala-5

I took this picture of him, from the mid-70’s, with my very first camera.

Mohammad Zoomkawala
Educator, Poet, Dad.
June 19, 1932 – March 24, 2016

13 comments on “Zoomkawala Sahab

  1. Babur says:

    I am so sorry for the loss. Your Father was a Lovely man.
    Your father was such a nice person. He was wise and in control of his knowledge but allowed the love he had for others to first come through before any advice.

    I have many great memories of him. He was always so nice and kind towards me. I will always remember him in my prayers.

    I know you have him in your heart and in memories. You can always have him with you as the physical constraint that binds the person and the body is no more.

    Please know that your friends are with you in mourning your loss.

  2. Ahmed says:

    So sorry for your loss sir. Losing ones father is surely one of if not the toughest challenge a man faces in his life. My prayers are with you and your family in this time

  3. thotpurge says:

    So sorry for your loss…this is a tribute that speaks volumes.

  4. Batul kaj says:

    So sorry to hear about Miasaheb. What a lovely, kind and intelligent man he was. I always loved talking with him and know he had such a positive influence on my dads life. May he reach the highest levels of Jannat inshallah

  5. Ali Raza Sheriff says:

    Salaams Huziafa,

    I just saw this. I’m very sorry and saddened by your and your family’s loss. My sincerest condolences to you and your family, specially you mother, Odad and Luvai.

    I still remember the time when I used to come to your house in N. Nazimabad and meet him; I was always scared that he would ask me a Physics or Math question and I would not be able to answer it.

    May Allah give you and your family patience and perseverance to manage through this ordeal. May Allah have mercy on your father’s soul.

    Saddened.

    Ali.

    • huzaifazoom says:

      Thanks Ali. After his stroke three years ago, we had been gradually losing him. I was not aware of your Physics and Math fear. I guess, dad’s 10 years teaching at Saifee polytechnic automatically brought out the scared student in us (and Mrs. Mistry made sure we will always remain scared). His farewell at Saifee, after 10 years as principal, is one of the few things I remember: the students crying because he was leaving. That too is one of his legacies as a teacher.

Leave a Reply

