the games not played

I. May 5, 2002
I have come out to play in
The sandbox of

Heaven, in the time it takes
To count the beads

Of wracked time, I will test
The shores of a

Beaten throng, a million
Smiles, smoldering.

II. January 12, 2016

the demon storehouse of untapped
   soil, the

chances not supplied with oxygen,
   the games

not played, the full thrust of 
   action not

known to muscle or throat or to
   fresh ink

For my nephew, Hasan (May 5, 2002 – January 12, 2016)

7 comments on “the games not played

  1. thotpurge says:

    That’s devastating… there can’t be words for such loss…there shouldn’t be.

    • huzaifazoom says:

      His last question to me was asking why the driving age is 18 in Pakistan and 16 in some other places. I gave a quick reply as he was on his way out. My inadequate answer left the door open for further questioning that I would have liked to pick up on in our next meeting.
      Thanks Rajani.

  2. tmezpoetry says:

    My heart goes out to your and your family.

  3. Nitin says:

    This was straight from the heart. God give you strength.

Leave a Reply

