Faiz I – reinterpreted/re(de)constructed

(Mujh se pehli si muhabbat meray mehboob na maang)

To expect me to keep pining for you. To be blind
to the sludge that ornamented tradition has left behind.

Yes, I equated your fate with mine. And it felt nice
up to a point. Up to a point.

Your breath still commands mine. But to
breathe in this and this alone. Sorry.

There are other grievances, other indulgences besides you:
machinations that bleed, history that sullies flesh with dirt.

1. Original Urdu
2. A young Noor Jehan sings it

5 comments on “Faiz I – reinterpreted/re(de)constructed

  1. Nadia Haroon says:

    Can we have more please?

    • huzaifazoom says:

      Gladly. I had intended a three part thing on Faiz and would have waited a few more days to start on number two, but this little bit of encouragement is all I need to immediately start upon the next one 🙂 Thanks.

  2. Shoaib F says:

    Huzoor, this ‘somehow’ sounds incomplete. Maybe because I have the original stuck in my head. But this is also why I had been waiting before I said anything here. 🙂

    Maqta to hona hi bhaari chahiye…

    • huzaifazoom says:

      Incompleteness is probably the politest protest 🙂 I have one more transgression to make with Faiz sahab to reach my arbirtray goal of three Faiz posts, and then I will stop offending sensibilities (for a while at least).

      Then I intend to carry over my trangressions on to Sufic verse.

      • Shoaib F says:

        Lol great. I’ll go inform the Sufis. (and maybe try to score some hash as well.)

        And I’ll try not to ‘hesitate’ in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

